Barry White’s 20th Century Records Albums Remastered

All Nine Albums Also Available in Individual 180-Gram Vinyl LP Packages

Soul/R&B legend Barry White’s nine 20th Century Records

Barry White’s 20th Century Records Albums Remastered For 9CD And 9LP Vinyl Box Sets, ‘The 20th Century Records Albums (1973-1979),’ To Be Released October 26

Marking 45 years since the release of his debut solo album, soul/R&B legend Barry White’s nine 20th Century Records albums have been remastered from their analog master tapes for new 9CD and 9LP 180-gram vinyl box sets, titled Barry White: The 20th Century Records Albums (1973-1979). To be released worldwide on October 26 by Mercury/UMe, the new CD and vinyl collections bring together all the albums White released with the 20th Century Records label. On the same date, the nine remastered albums — all long out of print on vinyl — will be released in individual 180-gram LP packages with faithfully replicated original sleeve and label artwork.

Preorder Barry White: The 20th Century Records Albums (1973-1979) 9CD and 9LP box sets and the nine individual LPs:

In March 1973Barry White released his first solo album, I’ve Got So Much To Give, with 20th Century Records. Fueled by two Billboard R&B Top 10 singles, including the No. One “I’m Gonna Love You Just a Little More Baby,” the album topped Billboard‘s R&B chart and reached No. 16 on the Billboard 200 albums chart. White’s second solo album, Stone Gon, soon followed in October 1973. Also boasting two Top 10 R&B singles, the album’s success closely matched that of his recent debut, topping Billboard‘s R&B chart and reaching the Top 20 of the Billboard 200.

White’s blockbuster Can’t Get Enough album was released in August 1974. It hit No. One on Billboard‘s R&B chart and the Billboard 200, and it also reached No. 4 on the UK chart. The album features two of White’s iconic signature songs, “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Babe” and “You’re the First, the Last, My Everything,” both of which topped Billboard‘s R&B chart and went to No. 1 and No. 2, respectively, on the Billboard Hot 100. In the UK, “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Babe” reached No. 8, while “You’re the First, the Last, My Everything” topped the singles chart at No. 1.

Released in March 1975, White’s self-produced fourth album, Just Another Way To Say I Love You, also topped Billboard‘s R&B chart. The album reached No. 17 on the Billboard 200 and No. 12 on the UK chart. It features two Top 10 Billboard R&B singles, the No. 1 “What Am I Gonna Do with You” (also a Top 10 Billboard Hot 100 hit and a Top 5 UK single) and “I’ll Do For You Anything You Want Me To.”

Also, self-produced, White’s fifth album with 20th Century Records, Let The Music Play, was released in January 1976. It reached No. 8 on Billboard‘s R&B albums chart and peaked at No. 42 on the Billboard 200 and No. 22 on the UK chart. The album yielded three charting singles, including “Let the Music Play”, which peaked at No. 4 on Billboard‘s R&B chart and No. 9 on the UK singles chart. “You See the Trouble with Me” reached No. 14 on Billboard‘s R&B chart and No. 2 on the UK singles chart, while “Baby, We Better Try to Get It Together” reached No. 29 on Billboard‘s R&B chart and No. 15 on the UK singles chart.

Is This Whatcha Wont? is White’s self-produced sixth album, released in November 1976. It reached No. 25 on Billboard‘s R&B chart, with its two singles, “Don’t Make Me Wait Too Long” and “I’m Qualified to Satisfy You” respectively peaking at No. 20 and No. 25 on the Billboard R&B chart. Both singles also charted in the UK, at No. 17 and No. 37, respectively.

White’s self-produced seventh album, Sings For Someone You Love, was released in August 1977. It was White’s first album since 1975 to top Billboard‘s R&B chart, and it also reached No. 8 on the Billboard 200. The album features two Top 10 Billboard R&B singles: the No. 1 “It’s Ecstasy When You Lay Down Next to Me” (also No. 4 on the Billboard Hot 100) and “Playing Your Game, Baby.” A third single, “Oh, What a Night for Dancing,” reached No. 13 on Billboard‘s R&B chart.

The Man, White’s self-produced eighth album, was released in October 1978 on the renamed 20th Century-Fox Records label. It was his sixth Billboard R&B No. 1 and it also reached No. 36 on the Billboard 200. The album’s lead single, “Your Sweetness Is My Weakness” reached No. 2 on Billboard‘s R&B chart, while White’s cover of Billy Joel’s “Just the Way You Are” reached No. 45 on Billboard‘s R&B chart and No. 12 on the UK singles chart. A third single, “Sha La La Means I Love You,” peaked at No. 55 on the UK singles chart. A cover of White’s “It’s Only Love Doing Its Thing” (with the shortened title “It’s Only Love”) was a hit for the British band Simply Red in 1989.

White’s ninth self-produced album, I Love To Sing The Songs I Sing, was released in April 1979. Featuring the title song, the album peaked at No. 40 on Billboard‘s R&B chart. It was White’s final LP for 20th Century-Fox Records, after which he released new recordings on his own Unlimited Gold imprint.

Across the nine albums, he released with 20th Century Records between 1973 and 1979, Barry White established the new sound of orchestral soul that became an enduring R&B staple. Fifteen years after his untimely death in 2003 at the age of 58, The 20th Century Records Albums (1973-1979)honors and celebrates Barry White’s legendary career by restoring these classic albums and presenting them together.

Barry White: The 20th Century Records Albums (1973-1979)

I’ve Got So Much To Give (20th Century T-407; 1973)
1. Standing In The Shadows Of Love
2. Bring Back My Yesterday
1.  I’ve Found Someone
2. I’ve Got So Much To Give
3. I’m Gonna Love You Just A Little More Baby

Stone Gon (20th Century T-423; 1973)
1. Girl It’s True, Yes I’ll Always Love You
2. Honey Please, Can’t Ya See
3. You’re My Baby
1. Hard To Believe That I Found You
2. Never, Never Gonna Give Ya Up

Can’t Get Enough (20th Century T-444; 1974)
1. Mellow Mood (Pt. I)
2. You’re The First, The Last, My Everything
3. I Can’t Believe You Love Me
1. Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love, Babe
2. Oh Love, Well We Finally Made It
3. I Love You More Than Anything (In This World Girl)
4. Mellow Mood (Pt. II)

Just Another Way To Say I Love You (20th Century T-466; 1975)
1. Heavenly, That’s What You Are To Me
2. I’ll Do For You Anything You Want Me To
3. All Because Of You
4. Love Serenade (Part I)
1. What Am I Gonna Do With You
2. Let Me Live My Life Lovin’ You Babe
3. Love Serenade (Part II)

Let The Music Play (20th Century T-502; 1976)
1. I Don’t Know Where Love Has Gone
2. If You Know, Won’t You Tell Me
3. I’m So Blue And You Are Too
1. Baby, We Better Try To Get It Together
2. You See The Trouble With Me
3. Let The Music Play

Is This Whatcha Wont? (20th Century T-516; 1976)
1. Don’t Make Me Wait Too Long
2. Your Love – So Good I Can Taste It
1. I’m Qualified To Satisfy You
2. I Wanna Lay Down With You Baby
3. Now I’m Gonna Make Love To You

Barry White Sings For Someone You Love (20th Century T-543; 1977)
1. Playing Your Game, Baby
2. It’s Ecstasy When You Lay Down Next To Me
3. You’re So Good, You’re Bad
1. I Never Thought I’d Fall In Love With You
2. You Turned My Whole World Around
3. Oh, What A Night For Dancing
4. Of All The Guys In The World

The Man (20th Century T-571; 1978)
1. Look At Her
2. Your Sweetness Is My Weakness
3. Sha La La Means I Love You
1. September When I First Met You
2. It’s Only Love Doing Its Thing
3. Just The Way You Are
4. Early Years

I Love To Sing the Songs I Sing (20th Century T-590; 1979)
1. I Love To Sing The Songs I Sing
2. Girl, What’s Your Name
3. Once Upon A Time (You Were A Friend Of Mine)
4. Oh Me, Oh My (I’m Such A Lucky Guy)
1. I Can’t Leave You Alone
2. Call Me, Baby
3. How Did You Know It Was Me?